bfr lab is an architecture and design office founded by Daniel Baerlecken, Matthias Frei and Judith Reitz in Cologne and Langenthal in 2006.

bfr lab is working at the boundaries of architecture, design and advanced technologies and is covering a wide range of projects from large-scale office and residential projects to interior and furniture design in a variety of contexts, which include design competitions and commissions , full-scale fabrications, prototypical constructions and exhibitions and theoretical proposals.

The practice favours an experimental and innovative approach towards architecture using new technologies and new materials as a form of applied design research. This discursive approach is substantialized by a simultaneous engagement in research and teaching. Within that approach each project is distinguished as distinct opportunity, in which aesthetics, project requirements, specificities of context, economies of construction, desires of the client and programmatic purposes synthesize.


Currently bfr lab is working on a series of residential projects in Germany and Switzerland and interior design projects and international design competitions. Recently BFR lab has been exhibited at the Biennale in Venice and at the Designers Saturday in Switzerland. BFR lab has won prizes in international competitions. In 2009 the partners have been awarded with the price for emerging architects in North Rhine Westphalia, Germany.

Since 2012 bfr lab is part of the BDA, the Association of German Architects (Bund Deutscher Architekten) constituted by leading German architects.


Daniel Baerlecken is teaching as Assistant Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta. He focuses on digital design and fabrication. Matthias Frei has been a guest critic at diverse universities in Germany and Britain. Judith Reitz is Professor for Design and Interior Planning at the University of Applied Science in Duesseldorf, Germany. She is also teaching visualization as Adjunct Associate Professor at the Texas A&M since 2007.